Steering Committee

We appreciate our Steering Committee for contributing their time and ideas.  They have worked tirelessly to make On the Table a success for the fourth year in a row.

  • Audrey Peeples, On the Table Chair
  • Nadine Apelian Dobbs COO, Chicago Ideas Week
  • Benjamin Breit Press Secretary, Air BnB
  • Vaughn Bryant Executive Director, Chicago Literacy Alliance
  • Alison Cuddy Associate Artistic Director, Chicago Humanities Festival
  • Sol Flores Executive Director, La Casa Norte
  • Caroline Goldstein Deputy Director, LISC Chicago
  • Shawn Healy Program Director, Democracy Staff, McCormick Foundation
  • Ra Joy Executive Director, Change Illinois
  • Ann Kisting Executive Director, Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce Foundation
  • Tuyet Le Executive Director, Asian Americans Advancing Justice Chicago
  • Amanda Lewis Director, Institute for Research on Race and Public Policy
  • Jessica Marshall Director of Social Science and Civic Engagement, Chicago Public Schools
  • Abbey McLaren Associate Program Officer, Generation All
  • Otis Monroe Executive Director, The Monroe Foundation
  • Michelle Morales CEO, MIKVA Challenge
  • Kathleen Murphy Director of Communications, Forefront Chicago
  • Jenne Myers CEO, Chicago Cares
  • Mona Noriega Commissioner, Chicago Commission on Human Relations
  • Kelly O'Brien Executive Director, The Kennedy Forum
  • Shumeca Pickett Principle Consultant, World Business Chicago
  • James Rudyk Executive Director, Northwest Side Housing Center
  • Andrea Saenz First Deputy Commissioner, Chicago Public Libraries
  • Irene Sherr Bureau of Economic Development, Cook County - President Preckwinkle's Office
  • Diane Whatton Head of U.S. Community Affairs, BMO Harris
  • Wendy Williams Executive Director, Southeast Chicago Commission
  • Angel Ysaguirre Executive Director, Illinois Humanities Council

The Chicago Community Trust

The Chicago Community Trust is the region’s largest community foundation. For the past century, the Trust has connected the generosity of donors with community needs by making grants to nonprofit organizations working to improve metropolitan Chicago.

Our region is home to people passionate about their neighborhoods. People committed to making a difference. People divided by a legacy of segregation, separated by lines of class and race and opportunity – but there is much more that unites us than divides us. As the Trust begins our next century of service, we pledge to bridge these divisions and to champion the common good. We aim to be the most philanthropic region in the nation. By inviting everyone to join in conversation, and inspiring everyone to collective action, together we can create a place where no one is left behind.

Since our founding, the Trust has awarded approximately $1.8 billion in grant funding to more than 11,000 local nonprofit organizations – including more than $164.5 million in 2014. For more information, visit